Two in a Row

One of the most difficult things about writing is making the time. I’ve been reading a lot about how other authors do it and there seems to be consensus that setting aside a specific period of time each day, in the same place, is the best method. Then again, there have been many writers who squeezed in their scribbling whenever and wherever they could.

I took a vacation day tomorrow and I’m going to make an effort to clear my desk and prepare it for the task ahead. Of course, I’ve said this before so I’m hoping that making this public commitment motivates me to actually get it done. If so, I think the writing can actually begin earnest.

Aside from the physical writing, making time to think is another chore. If you’re sitting at home, it’s easy to get distracted by just about anything from laundry to playing with the cat. I’ve found that the 2 places I do my best thinking are in the shower or when I’m walking. This has a good weekend for me and I’ve actually gotten out for a walk Saturday and Sunday night. There’s something about being out in the open (especially at night) that gets the mental gears going. Tonight, I came up with some back-story for my characters. I also thought I’d share something with you and ask for your help at the same time.

My story takes place 30 years in the future. Can any of you help me by suggesting changes that you think might take place between now and then? Things like transportation, technology. or even social mores. If you can, please leave it in the comments. Oh yeah, don’t forget to click the follow link.

Thanks!

One thought on “Two in a Row

  1. Love your commitment, Art.

    Will have to think about future advances. So much is happening now in preparation of how the future will change. It’s overwhelming!

    Like

Leave a Reply

