End of Week 1

So far, this week has been a total washout as far as “real” writing was concerned. It’s amazing how much time the daily routine can take. One thing leads to another and the next thing you know, it’s bedtime. But that doesn’t mean that I haven’t been progressing… at least that’s what I’m telling myself.

During inspired moments, I’ve been doing internet searches to assist me with naming my characters. For me, this is a big deal because 1) I hate doing it and it obviously isn’t important to me because I can never remember people’s names, 2) I’m not Charles Dickens and I don’t have and caricatures in my story, and 3) I’ve been hemming and hawing about the names for weeks.

Why torture myself over names? Oddly enough, people who aren’t me actually care about names. When they read a story, certain names are evocative in either their meaning or even the way they roll off the tongue. I’m no literature professor and haven’t read enough books to fill a small bookshelf so I can’t spit out examples. However, I do know that this concept exists. So, as a serious writer, I want to be sure that these proper nouns that will occur frequently in my story do more than just serve as a pointer to reference which character is speaking.

I have also been refining my themes. More accurately, I’m culling. When I started out, I had all these ideas that I wanted to address but, in the cold hard light of day, I now see that too many themes generally results in too little attention to each one. I was basically writing the recipe for thin gruel. To fix this, I took an ax to the list and settled on 2 major themes and 2 character-driven minor themes. From there, I started writing several paragraphs on each. The key word here is started. I’m not done. But this is critical for me because I can’t start writing until I know that each scene and every character exchange is advancing my themes.

This post has taken me about an hour to complete and put on the site. I could have spent it working on the story but this blog is part of what I signed up for.

REMINDER: If you like this, please click the “follow” link to the right of this. If enough of you do, I won’t have to put up a Facebook alert every time I finish a post.

Thanks

Leave a Reply

